curriculum links enrichment.gif (15648 bytes)

Sixth Grade
Purpose
There are times during the day when students might benefit from enhancing or reinforcing curriculum skills independently.  Students may use these sites in lieu of classroom work already mastered. Sites include resources, tools, practice games and research links.

*indicates district objective

ALERT! These links will take you to sites outside the Nieman EL site. Nieman Enhanced Learning Center and the Shawnee Mission School District are not responsible for material linked to outside websites.   Students need to understand that conflicting information may be found on the Internet.  Teachers should visit all sites to make sure that they are appropriate for grade level learners in content and readability.

TEACHERS: If you find sites that you would like added to or removed from these lists just email  nibosch@smsd.org

Reading and Language Arts Vocabulary

Online magazines

Mathematics
Math "Games"

Online books, magazines, and poems

Writing

Science and Health

Science Extras

Social Studies

Author's Sites

Research Helpers

Dictionaries/Reference

Social Studies Games (fun only)

Fun Sites

Manipulatives

Museums

Reading and Language Arts

*Expand Vocabulary

Language Arts Activities http://www.iknowthat.com/com/L3?Area=L2_LanguageArts   After you choose the activity you want to do you will be asked to register.   Click on the button that says "Maybe Later". Choose an activity that is at you grade level or higher. Try Punctuation Paintball, Rocket Word Tag, Supernova Sentence Structures, and Alien Word Mine.

Grammar Gorillas http://www.funbrain.com/grammar/
Paint by Idioms http://www.funbrain.com/idioms/index.html
The Plural Girls http://www.funbrain.com/plurals/index.html
Word Confusion http://www.funbrain.com/whichword/index.html
Rooting Out Words http://www.funbrain.com/roots/index.html

Online Magazines
*Read fluently at grade level
*Read self-selected materials
*Apply reading strategies

National Geographic Explorer http://magma.nationalgeographic.com/ngexplorer/index.html
Time Magazine for Kids http://www.timeforkids.com/TFK/
Sports Illustrated for Kids http://www.sikids.com/
Consumer Reports 4 Kids http://www.zillions.org/
Scholastic News http://teacher.scholastic.com/scholasticnews/
Science News for Kids http://www.sciencenewsforkids.org/

Online Books, Stories and Poems
Winged Sandals http://www.wingedsandals.com/
Myth Web http://www.mythweb.com/
The Adventures of Banph http://www.banph.com/
Bunyips: Aboriginal Stories from Australia http://www.nla.gov.au/exhibitions/bunyips/ 
Fletcher Hill Stories http://fletcherhill.com/
Giggle Poetry http://www.gigglepoetry.com/
Brothers Grimm http://www.nationalgeographic.com/grimm/
Kid's Mysteries http://kids.mysterynet.com/
Peetnik Mysteries http://151.138.2.30/enlightenme/superthinkers/pages/welcome.html
Famous People Read Stories http://www.bookpals.net/storyline/

Author's Sites
Judy Blume's Home Base http://www.judyblume.com/
Brian Jacques Official Site http://www.redwall.org/
Harry Potter Homepage http://www.scholastic.com/harrypotter/home.asp
Roald Dahl http://www.roalddahl.com/
Lemony Snicket http://www.lemonysnicket.com/ 

Writing
*Apply the writing process
*Use different modes of writing for different purposes
*Use characteristics of all six traits writing

Paragraph Punch http://www.paragraphpunch.com/cgi-bin/pp1.pl?step=1   Use this interactive application to practice writing a good paragraph.
Essay Punch http://www.essaypunch.com/cgi-bin/ep1.pl?step=1 Use this interactive application to practice writing a good essay. 
Creative Writing for Kids http://www.creativewriting4kids.com/
Creative Writing Prompts http://www.creativewritingprompts.com
Guide to Grammar and Writing http://webster.commnet.edu/grammar/
Writing the Journey http://www.writingthejourney.com/
Stationary for Your Writing http://www.primarygames.com/print_zone/stationery/older/bigstationery.htm

*Use and interpret graphs, charts and tables

Tables and Graphs http://www.mcwdn.org/Graphs/TabGraphMain.html
Create A Graph http://nces.ed.gov/nceskids/graphing/
Using Data and Statistics http://www.mathleague.com/help/data/data.htm
Data Picking http://www.bbc.co.uk/education/mathsfile/shockwave/games/datapick.html


Science and Health

*Design and conduct a controlled experiment to test a hypothesis

Science Fair Central http://school.discovery.com/sciencefaircentral/
SciFair.Org http://www.scifair.org/

All Science Fair Projects http://www.all-science-fair-projects.com/


*Explain the life cycle of stars

Ask an Astronomer http://imagine.gsfc.nasa.gov/docs/ask_astro/stars.html
Scientific Background http://btc.montana.edu/ceres/html/LifeCycle/starsbackground.htm
Astronomy for Kids  http://www.dustbunny.com/afk/

*Develop an understanding of spatial relationships of the solar system

The Nine Planets http://www.nineplanets.org/
The Planets http://www.dustbunny.com/afk/planets/
Kid’s Astronomy http://www.kidsastronomy.com/solar_system.htm

*Observe how light is transmitted, reflected, refracted and absorbed

Molecular Expressions: Science, Optics and You http://micro.magnet.fsu.edu/optics/index.html Light and Optics http://ww2010.atmos.uiuc.edu/(Gh)/guides/mtr/opt/home.rxml
Make a Splash with Color http://www.thetech.org/exhibits_events/online/color/intro/  

*Describe the process of photosynthesis

How Do Plants Live From the Light of the Sun? http://www.discovery.panasonic.co.jp/en/library/lib07lit/l07022.html
Real Trees for Kids http://www.realtrees4kids.org/sixeight/letseat.htm
Why Do Leaves Change Color in the Fall? http://photoscience.la.asu.edu/photosyn/education/colorchange.html

*Describe the body's immune system and the effect of HIV/AIDS

How Your Immune System Works http://www.howstuffworks.com/immune-system.htm
The Immune System  http://www4.tpgi.com.au/users/amcgann/body/immune_system.htm
HIV/AIDS http://kidshealth.org/kid/health_problems/infection/hiv.html

Science Extras
Science Mysteries http://www.accessexcellence.org/AE/mspot/
The NASA Science Files http://scifiles.larc.nasa.gov/treehouse.html
NASA Space Place http://spaceplace.nasa.gov/en/kids/
Africam http://www.africam.com/
Cloud Clues  http://www.northcanton.sparcc.org/~elem/interactivities/clouds/cloudsread.html
National Geographic for Kids http://www.nationalgeographic.com/kids/
Try Science http://www.tryscience.org/
Sim Science http://simscience.org

Junglewalk http://junglewalk.com
Oology http://www.ology.amnh.org/
Particle Adventure http://particleadventure.org/particleadventure/
Acme Virtual Detective Agency http://particleadventure.org/particleadventure/
Experiments http://www.hunkinsexperiments.com/
Cool Science for Curious Kids http://www.hhmi.org/coolscience/index.html
Sports Science
http://www.exploratorium.edu/sports/index.html
Kineticity http://www.kineticcity.com/
The Atoms Family http://www.miamisci.org/af/sln/


Social Studies

*Identify the social sciences as elements of a culture

Ancient Cultures http://adifferentplace.org/ancientcultures.htm

*Compile a research project demonstrating the understanding of a culture

Atlapedia http://www.atlapedia.com/
The World Factbook http://www.cia.gov/cia/publications/factbook/
Infoplease Countries http://www.infoplease.com/countries.html

*Identify the Five Themes of Geography

5 Themes of Geography http://www.funsocialstudies.learninghaven.com/articles/fivethemes.htm

World Atlas "The List" http://www.graphicmaps.com/geoquiz/thelist.htm
GeoBee Challenge http://www.nationalgeographic.com/geobee/
GeoCommander http://www.geobeecentral.com/geocommander/index.php

*locate major physical and political features of earth from memory

Research Helpers
Easybib http://www.easybib.com/
Citation Machine http://landmark-project.com/citation_machine/cm.php


Dictionaries/References  

Word Central (Merriam Webster) http://www.wordcentral.com/
Dictionary.com http://dictionary.reference.com/
Rhyming Dictionary http://www.rhymezone.com/
Fact Monster http://www.factmonster.com/
Library Spot http://www.libraryspot.com/ 

Social Studies Games
Crypt Raider http://www.primarygames.com/puzzles/strategy/cryptraider/start.htm
Diego Smart http://www.primarygames.com/socstudies/diego/start.htm
Pharoah's Tomb http://www.primarygames.com/arcade/pharaohtomb/start.htm


Mathematics

*Apply a variety of problem solving strategies
 
Grade 6 Problems http://www.stfx.ca/special/mathproblems/grade6.html
Aunty Math's Challenges http://www.dupagechildrensmuseum.org/aunty/index.html

Translating Word Problems http://www.purplemath.com/modules/translat.htm
BOTZ http://www.iknowthat.com/com/L3?Area=BattleBot_Puzzle

Coin Weighing http://www.novelgames.com/flashgames/game.php?id=4

*Classify polygons by attribute

Shape Sorter Tool http://illuminations.nctm.org/tools/shapesorter/shapesorter.asp
Investigating the Concept of Triangle and Properties of Polygons: Creating Polygons http://standards.nctm.org/document/eexamples/chap4/4.2/part2.htm
Geometry of the Ancients
http://www.learningwave.com/engage/geometry/geometry.html

*Factor composite numbers into prime numbers

The Factor Game http://illuminations.nctm.org/tools/tool_detail.aspx?id=12
Eratosthenes Sieve http://www.faust.fr.bw.schule.de/mhb/eratosiv.htm
The Primes Page
http://www.utm.edu/research/primes/
Prime Puzzles http://www.primepuzzles.net/ 

*Apply divisibility rules for 2, 3, 5, 6, 9, 10

Divisibility Practice
Divisibility by 2 Divisibility by 3 Divisibility by 4 Divisibility by 5 Divisibility by 6
Divisibility by 7 Divisibility by 8 Divisibility by 9 and 10

*Add and subtract positive and negative numbers

What is It?   http://www.eduplace.com/math/mathsteps/6/b/
Adding and Subtracting Integers Gizmo http://www.explorelearning.com/index.cfm?method=cResource.dspView&ResourceID=291
Color Chips addition  http://matti.usu.edu/nlvm/nav/frames_asid_161_g_2_t_1.html
Color Chips subtraction http://matti.usu.edu/nlvm/nav/frames_asid_162_g_2_t_1.html

*Use all four operations with fractions and mixed numbers with unlike denominators

Visual Fractions http://visualfractions.com/
Fractions http://www.321know.com/fra.htm
Fraction Practice http://matti.usu.edu/nlvm/nav/frames_asid_106_g_3_t_1.html
Cool Math Fractions http://www.coolmath4kids.com/fractions/

*Use all four operations with decimals

Decimals http://www.321know.com/dec.htm
Adding and Subtracting Decimals http://www.math.com/school/subject1/lessons/S1U1L4GL.html
Multiplying thousandths by tenths http://www.aaamath.com/B/dec54ax2.htm (explanation and practice)
Multiplying thousandths by hundredths http://www.aaamath.com/B/dec54ax2.htm (explanation and practice)

*Find the area of rectangles and parallelograms and the perimeter of any polygon

Perimeter and Area of Polygons http://www.mathgoodies.com/lessons/toc_vol1.html
Geometry http://www.321know.com/geo.htm
Bucky’s Blueprints http://www.iknowthat.com/com/L3?Area=BluePrints&COOK=

*Know and apply basic measurements and their equivalencies for length, mass, and capacity in standard and metric measurement systems

Megaconverter http://megaconverter.com/mega2/
Fact Monster http://www.factmonster.com/ipka/A0876863.html
Measurement Quizzes http://www.mathwizz.com/practical/index.htm
Measurement Games http://www.gamequarium.com/measurement.html
Measurement http://www.aaamath.com/mea.html

*Determine probability using simulations

What Are Your Chances? http://nces.ed.gov/nceskids/probability/probability.asp
Introduction to Probability http://mathforum.org/dr.math/faq/faq.prob.intro.html
Probability in the Real World http://mathforum.org/dr.math/faq/faq.prob.world.html
Probability Problems
          Two Bears http://www.cut-the-knot.org/bears.shtml

          It’s Not Fair! She Always Wins! http://www.figurethis.org/challenges/c26/challenge.htm
          The Birthday Problem http://www.mste.uiuc.edu/reese/birthday/intro.html
Probability from Math Goodies http://www.mathgoodies.com/lessons/toc_vol6.html

*Read and write equations with one variable

Basics of Algebra http://www.algebrahelp.com/lessons/equationbasics/index.htm
Introduction to Algebra http://www.math.com/homeworkhelp/Algebra.html
Solving Equations http://www.aaamath.com/B/equ725x3.htm
History of Algebra http://webfolks.com/algebra/images/home/history.htm
Absurd Math
http://www.learningwave.com/abmath/
Go Figure! http://205.252.29.34/gofigure/mainPage.asp

Manipulatives
Pattern Blocks http://matti.usu.edu/nlvm/nav/frames_asid_169_g_1_t_2.html?open=activities
Tangrams http://matti.usu.edu/nlvm/nav/frames_asid_112_g_2_t_1.html?open=activities
Pentominos http://matti.usu.edu/nlvm/nav/frames_asid_114_g_1_t_2.html?open=activities

Mastermind http://thinks.com/java/mastermind/mastermind.htm

Online Paint by Number
Griddlers http://www.griddlers.net/ 
Pic-A-Pix
http://www.conceptispuzzles.com/index.htm
Japanese Crosswords http://puzzle.geoweb.ge/online.htm
Paint by Number http://www.blindchicken.com/~ali/games/puzzles.html

Math "Games”
Cool Math http://www.coolmath.com/home.htm
Simon Says http://www.mathsnet.net/cruncher/simon.html
Metropolis: Game of Percent, Decimals and Fractions http://tower23.com/metro/index.htm
Cyberchase http://pbskids.org/cyberchase/games.html
Interactive Games http://www.oswego.org/staff/cchamber/techno/games.htm
Magnetic Numbers http://home.freeuk.net/elloughton13/scramble1.htm  
Arithmatiles  http://www.primarygames.com/math/arithmetiles/start.htm
Da Numba http://www.primarygames.com/math/danumba/start.htm


Museums

American Museum of Natural History http://www.amnh.org 
The Field Museum http://www.fieldmuseum.org
Boston Museum of Science http://www.mos.org/
Exploratorium http://www.exploratorium.edu

Articulation http://www.brigantine.atlnet.org/GigapaletteGALLERY/websites/ARTiculationFinal/MainPages/index.htm

Fun Sites

Prongo http://www.prongo.com/games/index.html
How Stuff Works http://www.howstuffworks.com

Protozone  http://www.protozone.net/AJinteractives1.html
SuperThinkers  http://superpages.com/enlightenme/superthinkers/pages/index.html
Digital Films http://digitalfilms.com/
Cliposcope http://nfbkids.ca/ultrabug/web_en/ 
City Creator http://www.citycreator.com/
Brain Pop videos http://www.brainpop.com

Brainquest http://brainquest.com/
Yuckiest Site on the Internet http://yucky.kids.discovery.com/
Art Attacks http://www.hitentertainment.com/artattack/index_noflash.html


FastCounter by bCentral

To add or remove sites from "Curriculum Links" e-mail nbosch@aol.com
Do you have any questions? Comments?
E-mail Nancy Bosch
nbosch@aol.com, web editor
Last update 10/15/10 12:59 PM
Copyright 1997-2008 Nancy Bosch

yellowmonte.gif (3568 bytes)

Also Visit
The Broken Arrow Enhanced Learning Center
http://connections.smsd.org/el

A Different Place
http://www.adifferentplace.org