Best Sites For Little Guys K-3

 

Easy Collaborative Projects

Technospuds http://www.technospudprojects.com/

 

Easy Webquests

An Insect’s Perspective http://projects.edtech.sandi.net/grant/insects/

In Search of Stellaluna’s Family http://projects.edtech.sandi.net/chavez/batquest/batquest.html

Designing Hermit’s New Home

http://projects.edtech.sandi.net/valencia/puppetplay/top.htm

Charlotte's Web


Primary Story Starters http://www.kinderkorner.com/starters.html
Journal Prompts
http://www.canteach.ca/elementary/prompts.html

 

 Interactive Online Stories
Interactive Online Stories can be fun for young learners but they can also be frustrating.  You might start by doing some of the stories as a group (hooking one computer up to a TV monitor or using a computer projector.) Then allow students to work individually with the stories online in a lab setting.  Be sure the students know the mechanics of navigating through the story.   If you go through the story page by page ahead of time the pages will be "cached" on your hard drive and will load much faster.  Be sure all your computers have the appropriate plugins for the interactive online stories to work correctly.

What Did Toby See? http://users.nac.net/ronzalme/Toby/
Storyline Online http://www.storylineonline.net/ (audio)
Berenstein Bears Go Fly a Kite http://www.berenstainbears.com/Slideshow/flyakite.html
Clifford Interactive Storybooks http://teacher.scholastic.com/clifford1/
Primary Books http://www.primarygames.com/storybooks/bookshelf.htm
101 Dalmatians http://disney.go.com/disneyvideos/animatedfilms/101/story.html
Beantime Stories http://www.meddybemps.com/5.1.html
Children's Storybooks Online http://www.magickeys.com/books/index.html
PreSchool Library http://www.storyplace.org/PRESCHOOL/other.asp
Stories From Rainbows Edge http://home.freeuk.net/elloughton13/rainintr.htm

Visit the sites of favorite children's books and authors
Dr. Seuss's Seussville http://www.randomhouse.com/seussville/
Arthur: The World's Most Famous Aadvark http://www.pbs.org/wgbh/pages/arthur/
The Official Berenstain Bear's Website http://www.berenstainbears.com/
Eric Carle http://www.eric-carle.com/home.html
Beverly Cleary http://www.beverlycleary.com
Captain Underpants http://www.scholastic.com/captainunderpants/home.htm

Magic Tree House Click on Teacher Tree House for Activity Guides

         Dinosaurs Before Dark

         http://www.mce.k12tn.net/reading4/dinosaurs_before_dark.htm
         Magic Tree House Activities
         http://abcteach.com/directory/basics/reading/book_units
         _vocabulary_enrichment/magic_tree_house/

        

Reinforcing Skills  
'Drill-and-practice is a tool that ought to be showing up in homework, rather than using classroom time, when you have a teacher who can get involved more in thinking skills and the application of skills,'

'Drill-and-practice teaches certain things to certain kids, but getting them to think is not one of them.'  Carol A. Shilinsky principal, Accelerated Learning Laboratory School

Dress Caillou http://pbskids.org/caillou/games/dresscaillou.html
Starfall http://www.starfall.com
iknowthat http://www.iknowthat.com

Out on a Limb A Guide to Getting Along http://www.urbanext.uiuc.edu/conflict/intromovie.html

Math
A + Math Flashcards http://aplusmath.com/Flashcards/index.html
Learning Planet http://www.learningplanet.com
Room 108
http://www.netrover.com/~kingskid/Math/math.htm
Rain Forest Math http://www.rainforestmaths.com/
Internet Educational Workbook http://www.inew.com/ (you need to register and login)
National Library of Virtual Manipulatives http://nlvm.usu.edu/en/nav/vlibrary.html
Change Maker http://www.funbrain.com/cashreg/
What Time Will It Be? http://nlvm.usu.edu/en/nav/frames_asid_318_g_2_t_4.html
The Number Monster http://www.coolmath-games.com/numbermonster/index.html

 

Logic Mazes http://www.logicmazes.com/
Boiler Room http://gamescene.com/Boiler_Room_game.html
Visual Puzzles http://www.puzzles.com/PuzzlePlayground/Visual.htm
KidsPsych http://www.kidspsych.org/pyramid.html

Reading and Language Arts
Primary Games.com http://www.primarygames.com/reading.htm
Grammar Gorillas http://www.funbrain.com/grammar/
Wacky Web Tales http://www.eduplace.com/tales/   Grade 3+
Web Tales http://www.funbrain.com/brain/ReadingBrain/ReadingBrain.html
Bembo’s Zoo http://www.bemboszoo.com/
Building Prefixes http://www.oswego.org/ocsd-web/match/matchgeneric.asp?filename=jwildeprefix2
Prefix Catch http://www.northcanton.sparcc.org/~elem/interactivities/prefixcatch/prefixcatch_sr_content.html
Match the Contraction http://www.oswego.org/ocsd-web/match/dragflip.asp?filename=jwildecontraction2
Antonyms http://www.oswego.org/ocsd-web/match/matchgeneric.asp?filename=kderitteantonyms
Alphabet Action http://www.learningplanet.com/act/fl/aact/index.asp

Science
Animals of the World http://www.kidscom.com/games/animal/animal.html
Nature Puzzles and Fun http://www.pbs.org/wnet/nature/fun.html
Primary Games.com http://www.primarygames.com/science.htm
Animals Games from the Animal Planet http://animal.discovery.com/games/games.html

Social Studies
States by Shapes http://www.primarygames.com/states/start.htm

Fun for the Brain  
Sprocketworks http://www.sprocketworks.com/
Lite Brite online http://www.sfpg.com/animation/instruc.html
Etch a Sketch http://www.etchy.org/
Elementary Magnetic Poetry http://www.magneticpoetry.com/kidspoetry/playonline.cfm
Interactives http://www.protozone.net/AJinteractives.html
Orisinal Games http://www.ferryhalim.com/orisinal/
Learning Planet Online Games http://www.learningplanet.com/kids2.htm
Tile Machine http://www.tilemachine.com/

Art
ArtPad http://artpad.art.com/artpad/painter/

Up To Ten  http://www.coloringpage.org/

Coloring http://www.coloring.com/

 

Teacher Tools
Rubistar http://rubistar.4teachers.org/index.php
Create a Flipbook http://www.readwritethink.org/materials/flipbook/

Typing Tutor
Dance Mat Typing http://www.bbc.co.uk/schools/typing/