ball95.gif (1069 bytes)

  A Different Place

 

teachercomputer.jpg (8966 bytes)

What the heck is all the fuss about?

Want some easy technology ideas that kids will love and will, at the same time, encourage writing and develop skills? Try blogs and wikis.

Email if you need help setting up your blog or wiki at nancybosch@smsd.org or nbosch@aol.com

 

 

There are several student outcomes targeted by use of blogs. Students will learn to be safe and responsible social networkers. They will understand intellectual property and copyright issues. Students will have the opportunity to write real and relevant content which is viewed by an authentic audience. The content may be original thoughts or stories, comments in response to peers or response to reflection questions posted by teachers as blog entries or threaded discussions. RSS News feed articles may also be used for inspiration!

From: http://adifferentplace.org


Nancy's Blogs

A Very Different Place http://areallydifferentplace.org
A Not So Different Place http://anotsodifferentplace.blogspot.com
A Very Old Place http://averyoldplace.blogspot.com

Nancy's Parent Letter #1 Blogging terms and permission; DOC-modify to meet your needs

Student Email Accounts-students need email addresses to get blog accounts and wiki accounts.

http://www.think.com
Nancy's Parent Letter #2 explanation to parents about think.com and student email accounts

District Recommendation for student email
Hotmail http://login.live.com/login.srf?id=2

Safety
11 Steps to Online Parental Supervision of your Children

Benefits for Kids http://www.rss-specifications.com/kids-blogging.htm

Where to Blog:
Blogger (free) http://www.blogger.com/start You will need to add each student as an author; they will receive an email telling them how to sign up.  Each students need a Google account to use Blogger

Edublogs and Learnerblogs (free) http://edublogs.org/
Edublogs Tutorials http://miketemple123.edublogs.org/2007/03/23/edublogs-tutorials-videos/

Pageflakes http://www.pageflakes.com/

Blue Host http://www.bluehost.com/ ($6.95 a month)
Site Ground http://www.siteground.com/wordpress-hosting.htm ($5.95 a month)

RSS for Kids
http://www.infinitethinking.org/2007/04/it-really-is-really-simple-rss-for.html

These are the feeds we use on our blog and students have the opportunity to respond to articles about science, current events, literature and more.

CBBC Newsround http://news.bbc.co.uk/cbbcnews/default.stm
Cybils http://dadtalk.typepad.com/cybils
Discovery Channel Headlines http://dsc.discovery.com/news/news.html
Nova Science Now http://www.pbs.org/wgbh/nova/sciencenow/
Patent Pending http://patentpending.blogs.com/patent_pending_blog/
PBS News Hour http://www.pbs.org/newshour/extra/
Science Buzz http://www.smm.org/buzz/
Surfing the Net with Kids http://www.surfnetkids.com
Why Files http://whyfiles.org/
Wands and Wizards http://www.wandsandworlds.com/blog1/
Word of the Day http://wordsmith.org/

For Teachers:
Blog Connections http://www.blog-connection.com/
Using Blogs to Integrate Technology in the Classroom http://www.glencoe.com/sec/teachingtoday/educationupclose.phtml/47
Instructional Uses of Blogs http://mustangblog.typepad.com/educationalweblogs/2005/02/instructional_u.html
 

By Teachers and Kids:
Cool Cat Teacher http://coolcatteacher.blogspot.com/

Tell the Raven http://tellraven.us/
Students in the Write http://blog.tufsdbuilds.org/

Room 613 Student Blogs http://hetherington0607.learnerblogs.org/
Trout Blog http://mcdsblogs.org/trout
Duck Diaries http://duckdiaries.edublogs.org/
Speaking of History http://speakingofhistory.blogspot.com/
Blog Write http://jhh.blogs.com/blogwrite/

Mrs. Kreul’s Class Blog http://marykreul.teacherhosting.com/blog/
Mr. Shaw’s Math Blog http://yhsmathematics.edublogs.org/
Parent Child Book Club Blog http://parentchild.blogspot.com/
Silverwings Book Discussion Blog http://silverwingbats.blogspot.com/
Art Blog http://mustangblog.typepad.com/mustangart/

Whole School Blog http://lewiselementary.org/


Wikis A wiki is a type of website that uses "open editing" collaborative software technology to provide an easy way for multiple participants to enter, submit, manage, and update a single web workspace. Users make changes by selecting from options and filling in forms on a web page. Authorized users can add and delete links, pages, and content. In some cases, a moderator approves changes before they are posted. Some wikis also provide a way to track changes and view earlier versions of pages. A well-known wiki is WIKIPEDIA - the free encyclopedia

Nancy's Wikis
The Wright 3 and Frank Lloyd Wright Wiki http://thewright3.wikispaces.com/
Unsolved Mysteries Wiki 
http://unsolvedmysteries.wikispaces.com/
Weathering Wiki http://weathering.wikispaces.com/

For Teachers: 
For Teachers New to Wikis http://www.writingwiki.org/default.aspx/WritingWiki/For%20Teachers%20New%20to%20Wikis.html

Teaching with Wikis https://wiki.umn.edu/twiki/bin/view/TeachingWithWikis/WebHome

Where to Wiki:
Wikispaces http://www.wikispaces.com/site/for/teachers100K
PB Wikis http://pbwiki.com/

Examples of Wikis:
Redwall Wiki http://redwall.wikia.com/wiki/Main_Page
Lemony Snicket http://snicket.wikia.com/wiki/Main_Page
Let’s Write a Biography Together! (also uses Flickr and Bubblr) http://priestsic6.wikispaces.com/literacy
Choosing Your Own Wiki Adventure http://www.ahistoryteacher.com/necc2006/

 

 
 

 

 

 

Do you have any questions? Comments?
E-mail Nancy Bosch
nbosch@aol.com, web editor
Last update 06/11/07 07:24 AM
Copyright 1997-2008 Nancy Bosch

heads row.gif (6699 bytes)
Also Visit
The Nieman Enhanced Learning Center

http://connections.smsd.org/nieman/el
A Different Place
http://www.adifferentplace.org